Home

welcome home

It’s been almost three months since i’ve seen the place that i’ve called home my entire life.

Three months ago on May 3rd 2016 my home town was evacuated due to the wild fires surrounding the city. We spent the first night camping out on highway 881 thinking that within a day or two we would be able to return to home, but that wasn’t the case. We woke up the next day only to find that we were being evacuated further South, so we packed up once again and hit the road heading to Edmonton. My family and I spent about two weeks living in Edmonton with friends before my parents decided myself and my two younger brothers were to be sent to Newfoundland, my brothers staying with our grandparents and myself to find a place to rent with my boyfriend. We said goodbye to our parents on May 15, assuming that in a couple weeks time we would all be reunited as a family and be able to return safely home after the fire was dealt with. Its now July 21 and we still haven’t seen our family, or our home.

It’s been a devastating few months, I’ve had countless nightmares and sleepless nights reliving the evacuation over and over again in my dreams. Struggling through mental breakdowns and many nights which I’ve cried myself to sleep.  I’ve spent hours upon hours on the phone with my mother who’s been struggling to get the house back in order and safe for us to return.

It feels as if things will never be normal again, I know I will never be the same after this.

I was born and raised in Fort McMurray, and though lots of people have their opinions on the town, its the only place I’ve ever called home. I can’t explain the feelings and the emotions that have overcome me since the evacuation. I miss my home, my family, and my old life.

We’ve had it pretty good compared to some, our house survived, we didn’t loose any belongings, just our peace of minds and momentarily our family.. but we are survivors.

We will make it through, we will rebuild, and we will continue on as a community.

~~LethalBeauty
Leave a Reply

